Casablanca

A flower beginning with 'C'

When asked to name a flower beginning with ‘C’ one of my students could have said ‘carnation’ or ‘crocus’ or even ‘camomile’, but instead he chose to answer ‘casablanca’

I know Casablanca is one of the main cities of Morocco, and I know it is a Spanish word meaning ‘white house’ (or house white), but I never knew it was a flower.

The student then proceeded to show me a picture of this flower on his mobile phone, and what a beautiful flower it is too.

Leave a Reply

